Well, I’ll be presenting in class tomorrow on “Proximity and Micro-location Marketing,” and I think I’m fairly prepared. I’ve never been one for public speaking, but I’m excited to share what I’ve learned on this topic with the class.

I spent a lot of time researching Proximity Marketing, which has to do with location-specific Bluetooth Beacons that send out messages to the smartphones of passersby who have the business’s phone app. The Beacon can send rewards for walking in the door, choosing specific items, and even purchasing something. Proximity Marketing also suggests certain products within the establishment based on the customer’s personal preferences and past purchasing behavior.

The thing that I struggled with most in this presentation was finding the information. Since this is such a new technology, there is not a ton of research on the Beacon out there. I found two videos that I think explain the technology very well, as well as an incredibly handy infographic that gave me a majority of the information for my presentation slides.

I think that this will be a very successful presentation, but we’ll just have to wait and see!

Leave a Reply

