In class this week, we spent some time learning the basics of Adobe Photoshop, which were much more feasible than I was expecting. We learned how to combine two photos and worked with changing the opacities of the photos. We also worked on creating a cover photo for our blogs by laying several photos from Creative Commons over a colored background, changing the opacities of each layer, and selecting areas of one photo to continuously copy over the other layers.

Photoshop has always been a very daunting program for me, so this experience was fairly liberating. I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to follow along with Tim’s instructions, but I used my resources (mostly the people around me) to remind me of the next steps when I fell slightly behind. Throughout this process, I surprised myself by completing each assignment in the time allotted and creating something that I was genuinely proud of. I hope that, by the end of the semester, I can use this program to make something unique and interesting for a website of my own. I’m excited to continue using these technological tools to learn brand-new things that I normally wouldn’t learn with my major.

Leave a Reply

